UK Bound: Glasgow

With the hot weather keeping me inside today and a new “for you” photo album of my visit to Glasgow I decided to once again try out my technical skills to download specific photos in one lump. The only downside so far has been trying to match some of my recollections with the photos that will make sense here. It has helped to have some pretty good notes – unlike for many places. I even kept details of expenses!

We took a train from Inverness to Glasgow where we would spend two nights to enjoy our visit to Glasgow. This was a city neither of us really had any expectations of. Which made it such a pleasant surprise. The first was leaving the railway station and landing nearly in the centre of a bustling city. With its mix of old and new architecture, many many cafes & restaurants, and weekend vibe we were ready to explore. After checking in to our hotel.

We turned a corner to see Caffe Nero at St. Enoch sitting smack dab in the middle of an otherwise fairly modern square. I was quite taken with the building and knew it could not have been purpose built for a cafe. Sadly there is nothing at the site to indicate its original purpose. They do make good coffee though. My curiosity still not satisfied I finally looked it up and later found a small piece somewhere on our walks about the building. It was built in 1896 as the ticket office and entrance to the subway. Now a great space to sit outside to people watch although the footprint allowed for that is quite limited. Of course I had a coffee despite how late it was. I also went for a walk along the river and crossed one of the many foot bridges to see what was on the other side. Not much where I was.

The next day we ate breakfast at the hotel, mainly because I had checked out opening times for a few nearby places the day before and that morning. Nothing seems to open particularly early in many places in the UK. £7.50 for a simple breakfast including coffee. My daughter joined me later and had a more substantial meal. Smart. We ended up doing a lot of walking that day. We had a few ideas of where to visit. Unfortunately, most of them were closed! Thank goodness for the Internet. We adjusted our plans and headed to Riverside Museum and the Tall Ship Museum, both entry by donation. As our path was along the river we were able to take in so many sights.

That day I heard the news that the 1973 Roe vs. Wade decision had been overturned ( legal terminology: overruled). As we were discussing this we came upon a statue of a woman facing the river with her arms raised. Not knowing anything about it I thought it fitted with my views on our topic. Reading the inscription on the front I still thought the same although the statue was to commemorate those in the Labour Movement who fought in Spain 1936-1939 against Fascism. I do not know why they chose a Spanish woman, Dolores Ibarruri, beyond her political and staunch support to eradicate Fascism. Nor do I think she, a Catholic, would have been in favour of the original decision. However, not knowing any of this my initial thought was how fitting, a woman expressing freedom. We do not have it, we are going backwards. I am grateful to not be an American. (An often asked question during my trip to which I perhaps too often vehemently, yet politely, replied, Canadian).

We continued our walk. Yet another sight caught our attention. This time it was a river cruiser paddle boat docked on the opposite side of the river. As we were admiring it we saw people boarding, the paddles slowly begin to churn the waters and a much smaller boat begin to nose around stern of the much larger ship. Intrigued, as well as rather apprehensive, wondering if the lone boatman had a death wish, we watched and pondered what was happening. Then that very small boat slowly, gently, began to push the paddle boat away from the dock, until it was sitting across the river rather than with the flow before finally, with paddles madly turning made its way upriver. That little motorboat seem to wag its tail as it turned away from the onlookers. Such a perfect name.

As the photos show, we were not done with the connection to the river. I mention that we did not find a place to eat at the rotunda. However, on our last night, before the play, we came across a place called the Butterfly & the Pig. We thought such an interesting name, carried on. Then, after some discussion over the wisdom, or lack of, of returning to our room to freshen up and find dinner before trying to buy tickets, and a couple of blocks, we turned around to find a place. Of course we stopped at the Butterfly and the Pig – a downstairs ‘shabby-chic…mismatched furniture, vintage wallpaper’ bar & restaurant. This was a very ‘in’ location and we were lucky to get a table. There were at least three ‘hen’ (bachelorette) parties coming and going while we were there. Lots of laughter, a funky menu – that seems to change & I cannot recall what I ate . Most likely a couple of ‘Smalls’.

Glasgow may not have stunning natural beauty but its combination of old and new architecture, a very hip scene, fabulous, as well as free, museums, and fantastic eateries makes it a city not to dismiss.

Closed! I suppose the area is just not bustling enough to open early for commuters or visitors.
“Better to die on your feet than live forever on your knees.” (Dolores Ibarruri)
One of two tunnel rotundas built on opposite sides of the river between 1890 – 1896 these originally covered 24m deep (79ft) shafts to tunnels used to reach the other side of the river. Access to the tunnels through these shafts were by hydraulic lifts. People, carts, horses and eventually vehicles! An early Chunnel? (Which I did not have the chance to do). The North rotunda, as pictured, is now a restaurant. It appeared there might be more than one eatery but no menus of hours.
Glasgow Science Centre (forefront) we had hoped to get there; exhaustion kept us away. In the background is the auditorium SEC Armadillo. (Completed 1997) I kid you not. The architects said they were inspired by the shipbuilding past of Glasgow, with the interlocking pieces based on ship hulls. I don’t see it but it certainly is noticeable.
Three way juxtaposition: Tall ship rigging, modern glassed transportation museum and a nod to Pride. The 3 masted Glenlee was built in 1896 and is now docked at the harbour of Riverside Museum. This was a fascinating trip into the past without having to set sail.
Too long – the hull is 245.5 – for me to get a full length photo. I sadly turned away only to discover this wonderful mirror image in the Riverside Museum where I would visit the second floor of ships built to scale, including one I recognized from the northwest coast of B.C.!
For’ard for the crew. Look carefully for the stowaway here and in the next photo.
Transportation is the theme of Riverside Museum, including all sorts of paraphernalia one would not think of. From inviting posters to cruise to Canada to the fashions of old. Of course I could not resist buying postcards and stamps to pop in the post of the ‘old town’. I do not know if they were ever delivered. Perhaps crossing the ocean by ship?
How could I resist visiting a place with this name? Kibble Palace is a glass house that was dismantled and moved from its original home in Coulport, Loch Long, to the gardens in 1873.
A view of one of the domes.
Yet another church we could not visit! This became a theme in some areas of the places we visited that were directly on the tourist trail. Even then at times.
On a whim we decided to see if we could get last minutes tickets after we had dinner. We did! Some of the other theatregoers were not only green from the suffocating heat but with envy when they heard we only paid £13.00 each. This was the final night and it was great – perhaps more so because my daughter rarely gets to the theatre. A somewhat edited, yet excellent, version from when I saw it many years ago with Donny Osmond playing Joseph.
The only downside was one of us had to sit in a row behind the other. I tried very hard to keep my mask on. Until I thought I would faint from the heat. Thank goodness for my programme because I foolishly left my fan at the hotel.

St. Enoch Caffe Nero: latte £3.00, Hotel continental breakfast: £7.50, 4 postcards and stamps: £10.50, Food Truck (at Riverside Museum): plant based burger £5.00 (it was £5.50 but they wanted my change), Dinner: Butterfly & Piggy: £11.95, Theatre (Joseph): £13.00, Black Sheep Coffee: £6.00 (train station)

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star