Take a weekend trip: Vancouver Island

In September 2022 I turned 65. Three of my daughters and one SIL helped me to celebrate this milestone birthday. We had a day in Duncan, where there is a fantastic, year round, Farmers Market every Saturday that delighted me. Then onto Coombs. A place I have not visited for over 30 years. Sadly not nearly as wonderful as my first visit although there still goats on a roof. We did not stay for lunch. Instead we headed to Qualicum where we played in the ocean, first three photos, before heading to Parksville to eat at Realm Food Co. where we knew there would something for the vegan, vegetarian and others to choose from that would also be delicious. We were not disappointed.

The actual day of my birthday was back in Victoria. We spent most of the day exploring Beacon Hill Park, after stopping at Beacon Drive In for chocolate dipped ice cream cones – an absolute when returning home – and Fishermen’s Wharf before heading home for ac delicious vegan meal. Balloons and flowers too. Plus a phone from my daughter in the UK who, sadly, could not make it. I am holding out for this year. The turtles were hilarious, slipping off, upsetting whole log at times. They never seem to learn. Fishermen’s Wharf is as colourful and busy as ever. Both spots should not be missed.

Two weeks later my youngest invited me to join her in Parksville for the weekend. Rathtrevor Beach was a mere 500 meters from the condo. Always marvellous to visit. When the tide is out one can easily walk 2 km in shallow water. Unless captioned all the photos are of Rathtrevor. There is a plan in the works to return at the end of April. What is so wonderful other than seeing the nature is being able to walk in the ocean. Possible even in September and as early as mid-spring.

We did so much more! I am putting it out there, explore Vancouver Island. Or closer to wherever you may live.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star