A Quieter Day: Art and Health

As the middle of the week loomed I wanted to fit in as much as I still could without becoming worn out. The weather gods were done with being kind to me, the temperature and humid descended like a hot, wet blanket. I spent longer than usual at my favourite coffee haunt, tucked in my corner reading, dawdling over coffee and dreading a step outdoors. However, I had two goals, visit the Martello Alley Gallery and the Museum of Health Care.

Columns, the arch, and a wrought iron rail around the small balcony. Such detail.
Most likely leaded windows also.
The pieces under the eaves remind me of Chinese temples.

As I walked to my coffee I decided to go down one street where I had fallen love with the gorgeous eaves, scrollwork and chimney of one home. Of course I neglected to jot down, or take a picture, of the actual street name and a triple check of my walking tour booklet had no reference. Even the bay window on one side had garlands set into the stonework. Excellent craftsmanship.

Bay window. Probably overlooked a garden at one time.
The chimney.

The gallery was a return visit; I had stumbled across their alleyway and door step a couple of winters earlier when searching for some warmth from one of my crazy, snowy days – I believe they were the only place open beyond Princess St. They are now in their third year. Since then they have built quite a following and I am happy to support their efforts to have artists work and sell their pieces from the collective. (I have no idea if that is the terminology they use, just seems to fit). My main discovery was a painter who goes by the nickname Tully. His work looks as though he uses coloured pencils; I was very happy to meet him at the gallery to see him working on a piece of Toronto architecture – buildings being his main focus – and to discover he actually uses very fine brushes and meticulous work. Over time I have collected four of his prints – all places I have visited. This time it was one of the Kingston Brewing Company. I had seriously considered a second, of Sipps, until I started to wonder how much more wall space I might have. 

Top to bottom: Pan Chancho Bakery (SIL worked there) and their goods are wonderful; Curry Original, my favourite eatery; Old Farm Fine Foods.
Kingston Brewing Company.

My lunch break was a visit with my daughter, she really does have an easy job. On my way I stopped to ask if my travel companions could have their photo with the window display at Rocking Horse Toys. The event depicted will be on August 5th, Princess St. will be closed down and family fun will include lots of colour and laughs. I rather wish I could be there.

I have a penguin named Gulliver, from Shanghai, who is too big to travel in my day pack.

I then headed out for a short Trolley ride (having left the print at the store) to the stop closest to the Museum of Healthcare where I spent a pleasant hour viewing various medical contraptions, reading extensive explanations of turn of the 19th c. medical practices, nursing school and some history of Kingston General Hospital. (KGH) The Ann Baillie Building was built in 1904 as accommodation for nursing students. It sits very close to Lake Ontario and would have had an unobstructed view of the lake at the time. A lovely setting to study in.The single room for student nurses was larger than I expected. Nursing has come a long way, from basically living at, and learning on, the job without pay. Students had to pay the princely sum of $64.00 for a degree. Now they receive a four degree, and are nearly always guaranteed a job somewhere in the health field. 
Far more books are sitting desks when studying nursing these days!
The cake from home is a nice touch.


I timed my outing perfectly, walked to KGH next door, where I have a daughter who is a nurse, in time to meet, pick up my print then head to the country. I was ready for the Kingston Penitentiary with my grandson for the following day.

The numbers: Brought my lunch, spent it with D3 at her office ; $8.40 brkfst; $2.00 coffee; $28.00 Tulley print 15,000 steps 

Leave a Reply

