Day 19: Back at full Throttle

Sent off a birthday greeting to my sister and celebrated on her behalf by going for a leisurely walk along a section of the K&P Trail. Built on the abandoned Canadian Pacific Railway rail bed access to the three trails I managed to stumble across starting at the Information Centre (formerly the K&P Station)/Confederation Park, across from City Hall, were connected, the Waterfront and City of Kingston Pathways sections and the K&P sections I took run beside Lake Ontario and Cataraqui River and beyond. I use leisurely loosely, starting from nearby Princess St. then turning back at River St. The route I took included the waterfront pathway, past the boatyard, the former Cotton Mill, a Rowing and a Canoe Club and enough picturesque stops for anyone with a need to just enjoy the view, rest or take photos. As I also took the Waterfront section and  I am unsure how many kilometres I walked but the majority of my steps had to have been during that walk.


The lake and river were still much higher than usual for the time of year. Shy turtles were bathing on the jutting ends of submerged logs, only to jump off if anyone stopped along the path to snap a picture. Of course this meant I only managed a few. In some areas the lake had lapped over the path and one jetty that appeared to be a kayak and canoe launch was looking very precarious. I was rather flabbergasted to see a family fishing from the section closest to shore. My imagination was working overtime with children sliding off the edge. 

The Woolen Mill was a lovely surprise to come up on. It seems to be a bit of an unknown to anyone who does not have to go in that direction. Neither of my daughters knew about it. Now occupied by offices, artisans, a gym and the River Mill Restaurant (est. 1985) (pricey – I did not go beyond the doors), the buildings were constructed in 1882 for the Kingston Cotton Manufacturing Company. It ran as a cotton mill for 50 years before becoming a woollen mill that ran until 1966. Of course it was synthetic material that saw the demise of the mill.


Fortunately it was saved and renovated without losing too much of the original structure. It was declared a historic build no n 1987 which prevents massive, or even minor – other than necessary repairs – renovation. I should have gone inside to see if there is any sign of the machinery that ran the mill over a century ago. According to thewollenmill.ca the original wood floors, pine beams and red brick were only refurbished rather than heavily renovated. The 100 foot high chimney certainly draws the attention of anyone passing by! 


Note:  I had a dreadful time uploading photos for this, thank goodness they all seem to speak withoutadditinal comments!

The Numbers: 8.90 breakfast; 15.00 lunch; 18,500 steps (trying to decide if I should add approx 1500 steps for when my iPhone is not with me each day – I do at home)

2 thoughts on “Day 19: Back at full Throttle

  1. Any idea what memorial the cross was for? Lovely walk and of course you should add those extra steps.
    I’m guessing waterlillies in the last shot.

    Like

    1. Yes, waterlilies. They threw me off because I live on the Pacific Ocean.

      As for the cross, here is an excerpt from one writer about the dreadful conditions labourers were under when building the Rideau Canal.
      “Approximately half to two-thirds of the labour force that built the Rideau Canal were immigrant Irish. Most of the deaths were a result of disease, principally malaria that ravaged the southern working areas during the years 1827 to 1831. There were also workplace deaths, a result of such things as black powder blasting accidents, rock falls and drownings.”
      (Rideau-info.com)

      Like

Leave a Reply

