Winter Wonderland

The snow was falling off and on for two days making for some more perilous treks, this time walking and driving. Highway 401 is the route to Toronto, three lanes on each side, 100km/ph, treacherous when there is snow drifting across the lanes, over snow formed into ice, and exits scantly touched.

Although on the 401 for barely ten minutes I could feel the blood run cold in my veins as we were approaching, and were approached by, a couple of semi trucks. It was the wind creating the flying snow. Otherwise the fluffy flakes were quite lovely. Like powdered sugar with a bit more oomph. More importantly, the temperature rose from -20c to a bearable -5c. Heck, I left my coat, toque and warm gloves in the car! Unthinkable a day earlier.

Both days found me shopping with my daughter for a few hours, a little bit of madness seems to seep into everyone a week before the holiday. After three winters in Kingston I have come to the conclusion that there is no reasonable explanation for how far apart everything is.

Alright, I understand ‘they’ say that is where the land is, but why, oh why, in such a cold climate over winter, then exceedingly hot over summer, build big box stores? Even within walking distance of each other, and strip mall style, it makes little sense. Architects and builders must have severe height restrictions when planning these vast spaces.

photo

My big adventure was to Montana’s, definitely not a restaurant I would normally choose. I think I have been to one of this company’s eateries twice, hated it. I could not think how going to one in a different province would be any different. However, that is where we were, my daughter having missed Kelsey’s, where she had intended to go. This is an indication of just how much everything in such shopping centres look alike.

Montana’s is very country. I am not. Envision heads: moose, deer, possibly a bear and I dare not think what else. I felt as though I had entered an a taxidermy haven. Heavy wooden posts, a large stone fireplace, paper table coverings, (crayons encourage scribbling and drawing) an old truck, a rowboat, canoe and snowshoes enhance just how country the decor is.

There was more, I was a little afraid to look. Fortunately, after getting through at least three menus, (alright, two were single laminated sheets) I was able to find some salad choices. The Apple Pecan Salad was a pleasant surprise, as were the Kapow! Shrimp we shared. I left there happy in the knowledge I had a pleasant lunch with good company.

Leave a Reply

