Packing

Sept 23/16 countdown

I’ve packed my bag, I’m ready to go.

I like to be prepared. This generally means my bags are packed up to a month before my departure date. However, it does not diminish the often felt excitement one encounters days before travel is to begin. What it does do is prevent last minute worries, minor details being ignored or forgotten, items left behind. This is particularly important when embarking on s month long, on the other side of the world, solo adventure. Let’s face it, travel on ones own can have negatives along with all the much anticipated positives. So, my bags are packed.

Where: I am heading to Southwest China after a stop in Shanghai, one cannot go to China without a visit to Shanghai! Planned itinerary:

  • Shanghai, city of glass towers; soaring, streamlined bridges; fast cars; gridlock, subway lines snaking in subterranean masses; carefully cultivated ancient architectural memories; foreign influence; Chinese fortitude. I already know Shanghai has it all and cannot wait to return.
  • Chengdu: pandas of course.
  • Jiuzhaigou: ‘Valley of nine fortified villages’; UNESCO World Heritage Site; dizzying, oxygen sucking heights – 2000 to 3500m – I am taking the appropriate meds with me to prevent altitude sickness.
  • Kunming: the city of eternal spring.
  • Guizhou province: villages, ethnically diverse minorities – it has taken 20 years (wow) of travel back and forth to China to finally make it here. That takes care of about two weeks.

There is a possibility I might go to Siem Reap, Cambodia to visit Angkor Wat – the only time I will travel with anyone.

Most unreasonable item packed: ground coffee and a travel espresso mug.

Tips: make lists, many lists. I have a list for my cat, home, travel. Unpack your bag, note I am saying singular, at least twice to determine what can be removed. I kept the coffee and mug.

4 thoughts on “Packing

  1. Hi unattendedgrandma,

    I am enjoying following along on your adventure!

    You had me at, “All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go.” Your favorite coffee seems a reasonable necessity to me. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

